

# **Peace Agreements Digital Collection**

Liberia >> Abuja Agreement

# Abuja Agreement to Supplement the Cotonou and Akosombo Agreements as subsequently clarified by the Accra Agreement

This Agreement amends and supplements the Cotonou Accord, the Akosombo Agreement and its Accra Clarification.

Section A

Article I

# Cease-fire

The Parties to this Agreement hereby declare a cease-fire and the cessation of hostilities effective at 12 o'clock midnight 26 August 1995.

## Section K

#### Article 12

# Schedule of implementation

The Parties hereby agree to abide by the schedule of implementation attached to the Agreement on the Clarification of the Akosombo Agreement with such modifications in terms of dates as are required by virtue of the delay in the implementation of the said Agreement.

# Part II

# **Political issues**

#### Section A

#### Executive

- i. The Parties agree that during the transitional period leading to the inauguration of an elected government, the executive powers of the Republic of Liberia shall be vested in a six-member Council of State to be composed as follows:
  - (a) National Patriotic Front of Liberia
  - (b) United Liberation Movement of Liberia for Democracy (ULIMO)

Mr. Charles Ghankay Taylor LTG. Alhaji G. V. Kromah (c) COALITION(d) Liberian National Conference (LNC)(e)

(f)

Dr. George E. S. Boley Sr. Oscar Jaryee Quiah Chief Tamba Tailor Mr. Wilton Sankawolo

- ii. The Chairman of the Council shall be Mr. Wilton Sankawolo. All other members of the Council shall be Vice-Chairmen of equal status. In case of permanent incapacitation a new Chairman shall be appointed within the framework of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).
- iii. The Parties hereby agree that the allocation of ministries, public corporations and autonomous agencies agreed by the Parties in Cotonou, Benin, on 3-5 November 1993 shall be maintained. The Parties, however, agree that the allocations for the erstwhile IGNU shall revert to the Liberian Peace Council (LPC)/COALITION. LTG Hezekiah Bowen, François Massaquoi, Thomas Woewiyu, Laveli Supuwood and Samuel Dokie shall be given ministerial or other senior government positions.

General Roosevelt Johnson's wing of ULIMO (ULIMO-J) shall occupy the following positions:

# **Ministries**

- 1. Minister of State for Presidential Affairs
- 2. Minister of Transport
- 3. Minister of Rural Development
- 4. Minister of State Without Portfolio

#### Public corporations/autonomous agencies

- 1. National Bank
- 2. Corporative Development Agencies (CDA)
- 3. Agricultural Industrial Training Board (AIIB)
- 4. Forestry Development Authority (FDA)

3. Holders of positions within the Transitional Government as defined by the Cotonou Accord who wish to contest the election provided for under the Schedule of Implementation shall vacate office three months before the date of elections. They shall be replaced by their nominees or by persons nominated by the parties represented in the Council of State.

4. The Chairman of the Council of State shall be ineligible to contest the first Presidential and Parliamentary elections to be held pursuant to this Agreement.

# Section G

Article 8

#### Peace enforcement powers

1. Enforcement of violations of cease-fire shall be in accordance with the terms of the Cotonou Accord.

All provisions of the Cotonou and Akosombo Agreements as clarified by the Accra Agreement not herein amended shall remain in full force and effect.

Done at Abuja, Federal Republic of Nigeria, this nineteenth day of August 1995.

(Signed)Charles Ghankay TAYLOR Leader, National Patriotic Front of Liberia (NPFL)

(Signed)Ltg. Alhaji G. V. KROMAH National Chairman, United Liberation Movement of Liberia for Democracy (ULIMO)

(Signed)Dr. G. E. Saigbe BOLEY Sr. Leader, Liberia Peace Council (LPC)

(Signed)Ltg. J. Hezekiah BOWEN Armed Forces of Liberia

(Signed)Major-General Roosevelt JOHNSON United Liberation Movement of Liberia for Democracy (ULIMO-J)

(Signed)François MASSAQUOI Lofa Defence Force (LDF)

(Signed)Thomas WOEWIYU National Patriotic Front of Liberia Central Revolutionary Council (NPFL-CRC)

(Signed)Chea CHEAPOO Liberia National Conference (LNC)

Witnessed by

(Signed)Dr. Obed ASAMOAH for and on behalf of His Excellency Flt-Lt. Jerry John Rawlings President of the Republic of Ghana and Chairman of ECOWAS

(Signed)Chief Tom IKIMI for and on behalf of His Excellency General Sani Abacha, Head of State, Commander-in-Chief of the Nigerian Armed Forces

(Signed)H.E. President Canaan BANANA Organization of African Unity Eminent Person in Liberia

# (Signed)H.E. Anthony B. NYAKYI Special Representative to Liberia of the United Nations Secretary-General

Schedule of implementation of the agreement from cease-fire to election - August 1995-August 1996

		Period													
Step	Weeks	Aug. 95	Sept. 95	Oct. 95	Nov. 95	Dec. 95	Jan. 96	Feb. 96	Mar. 96	Apr. 96	May 96	June 96	July 96	Aug. 96	
(a)	(b)	(C)	(d)	(e)	(f)	(g)	(h)	(i)	(j)	(k)	(1)	(m)	(n)	(0)	
1	2	22	4	Factions inform combatants of cease-fire											
2	3		5-26	Factions disengage from checkpoints/present combat positions to areas under own arrangements											
3	3		5-26	Verification by ECOMOG/UNOMIL/LNTG/Warring factions											
4	2		15-30	Recce mission/build-up of logistics-ECOMOG/UNOMIL/LNTG											
5	10			2		14	14 Deployment of ECOMOG/UNOMIL to safe havens throughout the country								
6	4			8	8	Completion/preparation for new assembly/encampment sites									
7	4				9	31	Combatants in assembly/encampment sites								
8	8					1	30	30 Disarmament/demobilization							
9	9					1		2	Resettlement/repatriation						
10					Preparations for elections				1					12	
11											Election	day		20	

Notes:

1. Cease-fire - 2359 hours 22 August 1995 (Midnight 22/23 August 1995)

2. Installation of new Council of State - by 2 September 1995

3. Election Day - 14 August 1996

4. Inauguration of new Government - 30 September 1996

Posted by USIP Library on: March 26 2002 Source Name: Photocopied from the United Nations Information Center, Washington, D.C. In August 2000. Source Document Number: U.N. Doc. No. S/1995/742 Date Digitized: November 4 2000